school

School is starting soon, and I can’t wait. The kids have been getting on everybody’s nerves since we got back from vacation. I think they’ve had too much together time.
This year we venture into many new unknowns. The Girl starts first grade and will now be going to school for the whole day. She’s not too sure about that, she knows its going to seriously cut into her playtime at home. The good news is that she was placed in the multi-age class. This is a cool program, they have it for 1st & 2nd grade, and 2nd &3rd. The Boy was in it for 2nd & 3rd grades. It allows the kids to have the same teacher for two years in a row, and the teacher really gets to know the kid’s strengths and weaknesses. TB is a voracious reader and is reading about 2 grade levels ahead. A regular classroom would hold him back, but the multi-age gives the kids a little more freedom to advance at their own pace in their areas of strength. TG’s class has a lot of kids who just made the cutoff, so the group as a whole tends to be a little immature. She is heavily influenced by the behavior of others, so she also acts a lot younger. I’m hoping that with half the class older than her she’ll start acting her age instead of 3. She also is very shy (yes, she has self-confidence issues at 6, I have no idea why) but having the same teacher for 2 years will let her get comfortable with her and be able to really learn.
As for TB, we’ve got the whole diabetes thing to figure out. Double supplies so there’s a set at school and at home and a whole new set of worries. Currently, I’m stuggling over the email to his teacher. His Dr wants us to get an IEP (Individual Education Plan) so he has unrestricted access to water, the bathroom and testing as he feels he needs it. An IEP?! so he can go to the bathroom?! This goes against every fiber of my body. The school is wonderful, that’s why we moved here. I’m sure they’ll work with me, and there are 2 kids in the grade above him with diabetes, so I’m sure there’s a process in place to accommodate it. I don’t want him to be treated different, he just needs to be watched a little closer, that’s all. That’s what I’m trying to say to a teacher I’ve never met. “Excuse me, you’ll need to keep a close eye on my kid and maybe give him an extra snack once in a while” I hate this stuff, I feel like I’m either coming off as a toadying pussy, or a hardline asshole.
On top of that, I’m getting ready for my classes, into to library and an English class. And trying to put together the cub scout curriculum for the year. Oh, and the office is moving this week and I’m one of the few who knows how to correctly connect a computer to the network, and the only one who can move the phone system.
So, with all of this going on, what am I doing? Procrastinating and writing to you guys.

Leave a Reply

