Trials and tribulations

The other day Kerri had a guest post from Abby about diabetes trials.  I’ve looked at them for TB and I don’t know if I’d enroll him in one that involved actually taking meds.  I haven’t had to make that decision because there haven’t been any that he qualifies for in the area.  Like Abby says, its a catch 22, and a moral dilemma that I still haven’t got my head wrapped around yet.  I’m asking for someone else to put their health on the line, but won’t risk my son’s.  Its kind of that “not in my backyard” thing.  I’d love to get in a trial with Animas for that new pump, or with whoever is working on a closed loop system, but taking meds?  I don’t think so.  I rationalize it by saying he’s still so young, he’s at high risk for celiac, and that is one thing I do not want to run the risk of triggering.  Trials regarding info gathering, and blood draws, no problem.   Those we’ve done.  I filled out a god-knows-how-long questionnaire at his endo’s office so somebody can mine the data and look for commonalities, and every year my non-d daughter gets her blood taken so they can find out why he has a broken pancreas, and she doesn’t.  Yet.  I get the comfort of knowing she hasn’t (yet) developed the antibodies that indicate her immune system is on the warpath, and they get whatever they get to figure out why his did and hers didn’t.  She gets a boatload of praise, a prize and the satisfaction of knowing she’s making a difference.  Really, even at 8 she gets that she’s making a difference.  The prize she picked this year was a Trial-net t-shirt saying she’s making a difference.  She wears it all the time, and talks about what that means.  I hate that she has to care and feel like she’s helping.

Leave a Reply

