One of my T1 mommies posted this on facebook and I like it.  I have no idea where it came from, or who wrote it, but I thought it was worth posting.

 

Hello there!

I don’t care about the color of your skin ,or how much money you have in the bank.

It doesn’t matter to me about political views, or where in socially you may rank.

Your child may be very popular, or maybe they haven’t started school.

I’m simply here to shut down their pancreas, now taking care of me is the #1 rule.

My name is Type 1 Diabetes and once you’ve got me, I don’t let go.

You will constantly be checking on me to see if I’m high or low.

Yes, I am the center of attention because there is no cure for me.

It’s all about monitors, needles and pumps and taking care of all my needs.

 

Hello, Type 1 I guess we haven’t met.

But if you think you’re taking over,well, you ain’t seen nothing yet!

We are the anchors, the fighters, the heroes called Mom and Dad.

And believe me when I tell you we’re the worst enemy you’ve ever had.

Our children are our lives, and we believe in support and prayer.

Though we don’t have a way of beating you, they are constantly in our care.

We’ll make sure the lives they lead Are as normal as can be.

They will run, jump, dance, play sports, eat what they want, and we’ll adjust accordingly.

You may have been a set-back, but you don’t have complete control.

Managing you and wiping you out has become our only goal.

We will fight you ’til the end and we’ll make a lot of noise…

We are a force to be reckoned with, we are the parents of type 1 girls and boys!!

Leave a Reply

